How my child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

My setting will promote the three prime areas of learning with the youngest of our children:
• communication and language
• physical development and
• personal, social and emotional development

These three prime areas are the most important for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop 4 specific areas.

These are:
• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world and
• expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Children in the EYFS learning by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

If you are looking for new ideas for things to do to support your child’s learning please ask me, so as i can give advice about the kinds of books or other activities your child might enjoy at different ages.

If you would like to find out more about the Early Years Foundation Stage please visit the website where you can find a range of resources and contacts.

Contact Me

Follow Me